Sunsetting of customer/user accounts

Customer accounts in Appointedd allow the business' customer (the end user) to create an Appointedd account. This account is not the same as the business' account but allows them to:

  1. View and cancel their bookings
  2. Use their email address and password to make bookings with any business on Appointedd which allows this.

Each business on Appointedd can choose whether they wish their customers to make an Appointedd account in order to make a booking with that business. This is in the account settings.

As of Monday 8th July, customer accounts will no longer be supported in Appointedd.

We have taken this difficult decision for two reasons; the feature isn't heavily used, and it is blocking us from developing functionality to enhance Appointedd.

This change will not affect the business, the details held about the customer, reporting or bookings. It will also not affect the business' login details.

The effects on the customer of the business (the end user) are:

  1. They will no longer be able to log in to view their bookings.
  2. Instead of entering their email address and password to make a booking, they will simply enter their name, email address and phone number.

Our research shows that removing the friction of creating an account is preferred by the customer as it is an easier booking process and as a result, it can also increase the number of bookings made.

We're committed to supporting you in this change so if you have any questions, please don't hesitate to get in touch with our support team through the messenger on the bottom right of Appointedd.